Learning on the Cambridge Pathway

Stages for children aged 5-16

Three stages of the Cambridge Pathway are taught at IES Skellefteå International School: Cambridge Primary (age 5-11), Cambridge Lower Secondary (age 11-14) and Cambridge Upper Secondary (age 14-16). Upper secondary students graduate from the school after taking the IGCSE (International General Certificate of Secondary Education) exams. All teaching is provided in English.

As well as the subjects on the Cambridge Pathway, set out below, international students also study art, crafts, home economics, modern languages, music, and physical education alongside students studying the Swedish national curriculum at Internationella Engelska Skolan Skellefteå.

Cambridge Primary (age 5-11)

In the primary stage students take four subjects:

  • English: first and second language,
  • Mathematics,
  • Science,
  • Cambridge Global Perspectives.

Cambridge ICT (Information Communication Technology) teaching is integrated into the subject areas to strengthen digital skills.

Regular Testing

From age  7-11 students take tests which are provided by Cambridge but are internally assessed by the teachers. The progression tests provide detailed information about the performance of each student. This enables teachers to give structured feedback to students and parents.

After the first three years, and again at the end of their time in primary, students take the primary checkpoint tests in English - first/second second language, mathematics, science and Cambridge Global Perspectives. These tests are externally marked by Cambridge Assessment International Education and provide the school with an external international benchmark for learner performance. Each student receives a statement of achievement and a diagnostic feedback report to assist future learning.

Cambridge Lower Secondary (age 11-14)

In the lower secondary stage the students continue to follow the same four subject curricula as Cambridge Primary, as well as integrating Cambridge ICT (Information Communication Technology) teaching.

Regular Testing

Students in lower secondary take the internally assessed progression tests as well as the Cambridge Checkpoint Tests, which are externally assessed.

The curriculum sets clear learning objectives and focuses on developing knowledge and skills in all subjects, providing excellent foundations for the next stage of education.

Cambridge Upper Secondary (age 14-16)

Students at Cambridge Upper Secondary learn with a view to succeeding in their IGCSEs. Cambridge Upper Secondary builds on the foundations of Cambridge Lower Secondary, although learners do not need to complete that stage first.

At the end of year 9, students have the opportunity to take IGCSEs in the following subjects:

  • English - first/second language
  • French
  • Global perspectives
  • History
  • Mathematics
  • Science - Combined
  • Spanish